Skip to Content
HomeAbout this siteHelpSearch this site The Library of Congress
America's Story from America's LibraryMeet Amazing AmericansJump Back in TimeExplore the StatesJoin America at PlaySee, Hear and Sing
Jump Back in Time Modern Era (1946 - present)

Thurgood Marshall Became the First African-American Supreme Court Justice


George E.C. Hayes, Thurgood Marshall, and James Nabrit, Congratulating Each Other, Following Supreme Court Decision Declaring Segregation Unconstitutional.

Thurgood Marshall (center) with George E.C. Hayes and James Nabri congratulate each other for winning an important case against segregation in 1954

CREDIT: George E.C. Hayes, Thurgood Marshall, and James M. Nabrit, congratulating each other, following Supreme Court decision declaring segregation unconstitutional, 1954. Prints and Photographs Division, Library of Congress. Reproduction Number LC-USZ62-111236.

Library Of Congress | Legal Notices | Privacy | Site Map | Contact Us