Skip to Content
HomeAbout this siteHelpSearch this site The Library of Congress
America's Story from America's LibraryMeet Amazing AmericansJump Back in TimeExplore the StatesJoin America at PlaySee, Hear and Sing
Explore the States Florida
territory of Orléans
West Florida and the "territory of Orléans," 1806

Enlarge this image
Florida Territory Becomes Our 27th State
With numerous boundary disputes, Spain's claim to Florida grew shaky. American settlers moved in and began to resist Spanish control. After years of border arguments, Spain finally agreed to cede the Florida Territory to the U.S. in 1819 by signing the Adams-Onis Treaty, signed by Spanish minister Luis de Onis and U.S. Secretary of State John Quincy Adams. More settlers arrived and Tallahassee became the capital. Florida was admitted to the Union in 1845. Have you ever been to Florida or Disney World?
Back page 3 of 3 More Stories

Library Of Congress | Legal Notices | Privacy | Site Map | Contact Us