Skip to Content
HomeAbout this siteHelpSearch this site The Library of Congress
America's Story from America's LibraryMeet Amazing AmericansJump Back in TimeExplore the StatesJoin America at PlaySee, Hear and Sing
Jump Back in Time Revolutionary Period (1764-1789)
Western Reserve
The Western Reserve include lands south of Lake Erie.

Enlarge this image
Congress Grants Connecticut the Western Reserve
What in the west was "reserved" and who reserved it?

When the American Revolution ended in 1783, the United States gained the Northwest Territory – an area of land that included the present states of Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Wisconsin and part of Minnesota. Four states, Virginia, Massachusetts, New York and Connecticut, claimed portions of the Northwest Territory for themselves.

page 1 of 3 Next

Library Of Congress | Legal Notices | Privacy | Site Map | Contact Us